China and magic mushrooms… a comedy copied by Woman

You know… I’ve said it oodles of times. China is a comedy show to the ninth degree. And if you read only a couple of post of mine this year, I pray this is one of them. For I laughed and laughed and laughed.

Mushroom indeed!!!!

But how on earth could I pass this up and not share it with you my fellow toy addicts????

Now in all the time I’ve been blogging, I’ve prided myself on not doing the common re-blogging thing or just showing a video or a picture of something that I didn’t take. Pretty much everything here at The World According to Woman is original.

I say pretty much as I do quote!!!

So why this little disclaimer you might ask?

Simple.

There was a news report a few days agoabout about a village here in China digging a new well and they came across a new species of “mushroom”. It had caps on both ends with holes in the middle. On the one side it looked like a pair of lips.

But I ask you again… how on earth could I pass sharing this little bit of news with you????

Let me do some copying and pasting from one of my favourite Chinese “news” blogger The Shanghiist. The quotes and pictures in this blog post have come directly from this page: Mystery mushroom….

“Mystery mushroom” which leaves Xi’an villagers befuddled turns out to be artificial vajayjay”

mystery-mushroom.jpg

Xi’an Up Close 《西安零距离》, an investigative journalism programme which airs on Xi’an TV, has become a national laughing stock after airing a report on June 17 on a “mystery mushroom” which was discovered by villagers in a rural part of the city.

Residents of the Liucunbu village on the outskirts of the capital of the Shaanxi province say they came across a strange fungi-like object as they hit bedrock while drilling a new well. The perplexed villagers decided to call up their local TV station for help, which sent intrepid reporter Ye Yunfeng down to the their sleepy little hamlet to get down to the bottom of things.

One villager who was there during the fateful discovery of the unidentified object tells the reporter, “When we dug down to about 80m deep, we fished out this long, fleshy object. It’s got a nose and an eye, but we have no idea what it is!”

“Even our 80-year-old neighbour here says he has never seen something like this before,” he adds.

Reporter Ye then begins to describe the curious object as the camera pans in on it. “As we can all see, this looks like a type of fungus, on both ends of which you’ll find mushroom heads.”

“On this side, you can see what looks like a pair of lips,” she adds. “And on that side, there is a tiny hole which extends all the way back to this side. The object looks very shiny, and it feels very fleshy and meaty too.”

“I’ve done my own research on the internet,” says the afore-mentioned villager. “It’s a type of lingzhi mushroom, called the taisui.” [Editor's note: Taisui refers to 60 celestial generals named in the Chinese zodiac.]

Without skipping a beat, reporter Ye chimes in with her own research, saying this type of lingzhi is generally found in the Shaanxi region deep underground and is hence rarely seen. “When the Emperor Qin Shi Huang was on the hunt for the secret to longevity,” she elucidates, “it is said he discovered this lingzhi was the answer.”

Eagle-eyed viewers who saw the report on Sunday immediately identified the mystery mushroom as a double-headed masturbation toy with an artificial vagina on one side and an artificial anus on the other. Yes, you read that right, it was a jack-off aid that some guy used to spank his monkey when he wasn’t getting it from his wife.

Overnight, the video of the news report went viral on the Internet, chalking up a few million views across multiple video-sharing sites.

The next day, the embarrassed TV show issued the following apology on its Sina Weibo profile:

An open letter to all netizens and viewers: Hi everyone, one of our news reports which aired last night has made everyone laugh. This incident has been widely followed, shared and commented on. As our reporter was still very young and unwise to the ways of the world, this report has brought great inconvenience to everyone. We’d like to take this opportunity to thank everyone from the bottom of our hearts for your criticism and correction. Please forgive our oversight!致广大网友及观众的公开信:各位亲!昨晚我们的一条新闻让大家见笑了。这件事引发了大家的广泛关注、转发和评论。由于我们的记者还很年轻,不谙世事,在这条新闻中给大家带来了不适和误导!在此,我们衷心的感谢各位网友对我们节目的批评和指正。亲们,请原谅我们的一次疏忽吧。

Previously on Shanghaiist
Sperm collecting machine: Chinese innovation at its best

And here is the video report: Mystery Mushroom Found

And I’m back!!! It’s me! Woman talking again!

Just in case you were wondering… this is what a lingzhi mushroom looks like. And it grows usually at the base of trees and on stumps,

usually on maple stumps. Not, as our lovely reporter mentioned, deep underground and possessing the secret to longevity.Well actually… possibly maybe. For you know what all those reports say, a man who masturbates keeps his plumbing clean and that helps to prevents a few different kinds of cancers. And men who masturbate seem to enjoy life more so than those men who don’t engage in any sexual activity … so there might be some truths to what she was saying.

S my lovely and probably still chuckling readers, what did you think of some news from China? I just hope one day soon, people in the public eye will learn about “fact checking”.

So gentlemen, let this be a message to you. Be careful how you toss out your old masturbator sleeves. They might end up underground, migrate to China and be dug up and eaten as a mushroom.

I wonder if one of my Fun Factory vibrators were ever found in the ground what would be the response? I mean my Big Boss is neon orange. To me it sort of looks like a radioactive penis. Wonder what Chinese people would think of it????

~ by Woman on June 19, 2012.

12 Responses to “China and magic mushrooms… a comedy copied by Woman”

  1. Oh my…..

    You had me choking on my coffee. Thanks, Woman!

    • I really want to know how many of them used it or went to a online shop to buy one to see what the mushroom is like!!!

  2. Live news is the best!

    • LOL!!! I know!!! I get a kick out of just thinking about it and from what my students were telling me today, it’s been blocked on some of the sites.

  3. LOL! He probably buried it to hide it from his wife! Thanks for this hilarious laugh!

    • Possibly!!! I still don’t understand why people get upset if their partners have sex toys. I find it surprising!!! My dream is one day I’ll bring a man home and his eye’ll go big and round with joy when he spies my collection!!!

      • That sounds wonderful….. not many couples reach that stage of not being intimidated by their spouse collections…

  4. Absolutely hilarious!!! thanks for the best laughs in a long time!!

    • China is the greatest comedy show!!! And what makes it the best one on earth??? They don’t even know it!!!

      Thank goodness I enjoy mocking myself just as much as everything else in the world!!!

  5. Oh that is the weirdest looking mushroom I’ve ever seen. Truly magical. Ha Ha

    • The one side looks like it’s got some freckles. Maybe the mushroom wanted to “blend in” with the natural surroundings.

      But I am still shocked that they couldn’t figure it out. Have they never seen what a vagina looks like? But then again in China they say that removing body hair is bad for ones health. So maybe not.

  6. What a great/terrible tale of a news report gone horribly awry! Thanks, Woman!

Sorry, Woman is not available to take your message right now, please leave a comment at the sound of the beep and she'll get back to you lickedly split!!!!! *beep*

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 488 other followers

